New York Convention

New York Convention Countries

The Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards was adopted in New York, on 10 June 1958, and entered into force on 7 June 1959. The first countries to sign the New York Convention were Belgium, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Germany, India, Israel, Jordan, The Netherlands, Philippines and Poland. Since the adoption, the membership has grown steadily to 149 countries in 2013.

A list of all Contracting States can be found in the submenu under Contracting States.

A visual representation of the development of the New York Convention's ratification status can be found in the submenu under Status Map.

States have different methods of implementing international conventions. The implementing acts of Contracting States can be found here, and information regarding the UNCITRAL/IBA and ICC Surveys concerning this matter can be found here.

Excerpts of national court decisions concerning interpretation and application of the New York Convention can be found by using the Commentary Cases, or the Consolidated List of Court Decisions Concerning the New York Convention, which are based on the subject matters developed in the Commentary on Court Decisions concerning the New York Convention.